old well


facebook linkedin
twitter pintrest
youtube vimeo

UNC study: Assisted living communities home to more older adults with dementia

Findings stress additional training for staff and improved consumer education

In a first-of-its-kind national study, UNC-Chapel Hill researchers have confirmed that assisted living communities are a primary provider of residential care for older adults with dementia and that an estimated 7 out of 10 adults in these residences have some form of cognitive impairment. With these findings in mind, researchers recommended that assisted living homes consider more training for staff, especially in medication management and avoiding the use of medications to control behavior, and stressed recent recommendations that call for improved public education to help consumers better understand the varied policies and practices of assisted living.

CHSA and UNC launch child welfare research network

New effort to inform and improve policies around child well-being
Children’s Home Society of America (CHSA) and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Social Work have launched a child welfare practice-based research network to help inform and improve local, state and national policies around child welfare and well-being.

Take the first step toward your MSW: Attend an information session

The UNC School of Social Work is holding several information sessions for prospective master's students. Each event includes an overview of the Master of Social Work (MSW) program, tips on admissions and financial aid, and opportunities to ask questions.

Read more