Skip to main content

SSW Alumni Council

Alumni of UNC School of Social Work are invited to volunteer for service on the School’s Alumni Council, which provides leadership for the School’s Alumni Association. Alumni Council members may provide feedback on School initiatives, attend special events as alumni representatives, network with current students, and work with the School’s advancement team to build support for the School.

The Alumni Council has one formal meeting each semester and is invited to other activities at the School. Council representatives elect a president, a vice-president, and a secretary annually.

Council Membership

Kristen Register Lakis — President
Phyllis Thomas-Thorpe — Vice President
Lauren Perkins — Secretary
Lizzy Burch
Erin Conner
Vaughn Crawford
Morgan Forrester
Rachel Fuller
Jay Jahnes
Caitlin Bearden Kappler
Keith McAdam
Alice “Cookie” McMillan
Davena Mgbeokwere
Raven Neal
Melissa Brandt Nelson
Annanora Short
Jettana Thomas
Monique Tuset
Tamika Williams
Kalyn Wilson

Ex-Officio Members

Mary Beth Hernandez, Associate Dean for Advancement
Christina Hill-Coillot, Deputy Director of Development and Alumni Engagement
Ramona Denby-Brinson, Dean

Past Presidents (not in order of service)

Jennifer Baddour, ’99
Mary Cherney, ’84
Dana Courtney, ’74
Alan Ellis, ’96
Ebon Freeman-James, ’02
Lyn Green, ’81
Bill Lamb, ’74
Greg Perkins, ’03
Mark Sullivan, ’02
Matt Sullivan, ’97
Michelle Turner, ’03