Skip to main content

Faculty and staff honored with School recognition awards

Faculty and staff were honored with 2022 UNC School of Social Work recognition awards. Colleagues and staff submit nominations each year for the awards, which highlight the high quality of work that faculty and staff are doing.

The awards were presented April 21 at the last faculty meeting of the academic year. The School established the awards program in 2013. Winners receive a cash award, a personal plaque, and inclusion on a perpetual plaque located in the School’s lobby.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Associate professor Ranier Masa: Excellence in Mentoring Doctoral Students
  • Clinical assistant professor JP Prezewoznik, Excellence in Advising MSW Students:
  • Clinical associate professor Marilyn Ghezzi,  Excellence in Teaching Faculty
  • Clinical associate professor John McMahon, Excellence in Public Service & Engagement
  • Assistant professor Rachel Goode, Excellence in Research Faculty:
  • Clinical assistant professor Tanya Jisa, Excellence in Service to the School and/or the University
  • Administrative coordinator Vilma Gimenez, Excellence in Staff Performance
  • Clinical associate professor and AHEC liaison Sherry Mergner, Excellence in Advancing Diversity, Equity and Inclusion