Skip to main content

Fraser selected to receive Faculty Mentoring Award

Mark Fraser, the John A. Tate Distinguished Professor for Children in Need, has been selected for the 2016-2017 Faculty Mentoring Awards.

Sponsored by the Carolina Women’s Leadership Council, the awards recognize outstanding faculty members “who go the extra mile to guide, mentor and lead undergraduate students, graduate students, or junior faculty as they make important career decisions, embark on innovative research challenges, and enrich their lives through public service, teaching, and meaningful educational opportunities.”

The Council—a network of women from across the country who are committed to supporting the University and students’ educational experiences—bestows three awards each year: one for faculty-to-undergraduate student mentoring, one for faculty-to-graduate student mentoring, and one for faculty-to-junior faculty mentoring. Fraser, who has been with the School of Social Work since 1993, was honored for his work with doctoral students. He and other recipients will each receive a $5,000 stipend.

“This mentorship extends far beyond social support,” praised Gary Bowen, dean of the School of Social Work. “Dr. Fraser also provides structured leadership to prepare his students for each milestone of their School of Social Work experience—creating a plan of study and succeeding in qualifying exams, dissertation defenses, and job talks.”

In their letters of support for Fraser, students also lauded the professor for his enthusiasm for research, his guidance on funding opportunities, and his creativity for solving challenges that have arisen during their ongoing work.

Fraser, who served as the School’s associate dean for research for 14 years, said his mentoring approach focuses on “trying to teach students how (to) survive and thrive with joy in academia.”

“I approach mentoring with the mentality of  ‘full life engagement,’ ” he said.

The Women’s Leadership Council will recognize Fraser and other faculty mentoring award recipients at their 2017 annual meeting on Feb. 24.