Skip to main content

Eight honored with School of Social Work faculty and staff awards

Seven faculty members and one staff member were honored with 2016 UNC School of Social Work recognition awards. They were nominated by colleagues and students in the School of Social Work, and the awards were presented April 28 at the last faculty meeting of the academic year.

The awards program was established by the School in 2013 as a formal mechanism for recognizing the high quality work that is being done by faculty and staff. Winners receive a cash award, a personal plaque, and inclusion on a perpetual plaque located in the lobby of the School.

The recipients are:

Professor Sheryl Zimmerman, Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award

Clinical Assistant Professor Marty Weems, Excellence in Teaching Award

Assistant Professor David Ansong, Excellence in Research Award

Professor Gary Bowen, Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award

Graphic Designer Charles R. Stewart, Excellence in Staff Performance Award

Associate Professor Mimi Chapman, Excellence in Public Service and Engagement Award

Clinical Assistant Professor Travis Albritton, Excellence in MSW Student Advising Award

Clinical Assistant Professor Sharon Thomas, Excellence in School and University Service Award