Skip to main content

School celebrates 94th annual commencement

The UNC School of Social Work held its 94th annual hooding ceremony on Sat., May 9. Over 1,200 people packed Memorial Hall to celebrate the 132 MSW and seven Ph.D. graduates.

Dean Jack Richman and Alumni Council President Ebon Freeman-James, MSW ’02, each welcomed the audience. Amy Locklear Hertel, MSW, J.D., Ph.D, director of the UNC American Indian Center, gave the commencement address.

In a special presentation by Mitzy Gonzalez, Dustin Rawlings and Melanie Sadur, the MSW Class of 2015 recognized Susan Snyder with an Outstanding Teaching Award and the Most Innovative Faculty Member Award; Laurie Selz-Campbell, Most Supportive Faculty Member Award; and Beth Sauer, Most Supportive Staff Member Award.

Easter Ann Maynard, MSW ’97 and Michael Newton-Ward, MSW ’84 were honored with 2015 Distinguished Alumni Awards.

Photo galleries: