Skip to main content

Eight honored with faculty and staff excellence awards

Seven faculty members and one staff member were honored with 2014 UNC School of Social Work recognition awards. They were nominated by colleagues and students in the School of Social Work, and the awards were presented on April 24 at the last faculty meeting of the academic year.

The recipients are:

Professor Matthew Howard, Excellence in Faculty Mentoring Award
Professor Kim Strom-Gottfried, Excellence in School and University Service Award
Professor Mark Testa, Excellence in Research Award
Assistant Professor Gina Chowa, Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award
Clinical Assistant Professor Travis Albritton, Excellence in MSW Student Advising Award
Clinical Assistant Professor Lisa de Saxe Zerden, Excellence in Teaching Award
Clinical Assistant Professor Barbara Smith, Excellence in Public Engagement Award
Dana Caudill, Excellence in Staff Performance Award

Established in 2013, three additional categories were added to the annual award program this year, including one recognizing a staff member. Winners receive a cash award, a personal plaque, and inclusion on a newly-installed perpetual plaque located in the lobby of the School.

“I am pleased that under [awards committee chair] Dr. Howard’s leadership we now have a formal mechanism for recognizing the high quality work that is being done here at the School of Social Work by faculty and staff,” said Dean Jack Richman at the awards presentation. “Now and into our future we will take time each year to honor our own who exemplify the best of the best.”