Skip to main content

Faculty and students presenting at SSWR, five to receive awards, reception set for Friday

The UNC School of Social Work is well-represented at the Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR) 18th Annual Conference, Jan. 15-19, in San Antonio, Texas.

This conference is the major place where social work researchers meet to share ideas and findings from research. It was formed, in part, to accelerate the contribution of social work to the evidence base for practice and, alternatively, to provide more rigorous information about the impact of public policies.

Conference presenters this year include faculty members Sarah Bledsoe-Mansori, Natasha Bowen, Gina Chowa, Trenette Clark, Allison DeMarco, Mat Despard, Dania Ermentrout, Mark Fraser, Shenyang Guo, Matthew Howard, Michael Lambert, Melissa Lippold, Rebecca Macy, Cynthia Fraga Rizo, Roderick Rose, Paul Smokowski and Mark Testa; doctoral students Katie Cotter, Christina Horsford, Todd Jensen, Candace Killian-Farrell, Rainier Masa, Caroline Robertson, Jenna Tucker, Kristina Webber and Christopher Wretman; and master’s students Jennifer O’Brien and Whitney Sewell.

Recent doctoral graduate Tiffany Washington, Ph.D. 13, will receive the GADE Research Award at the conference on Thurs., Jan. 16, presented by the Group for the Advancement of Doctoral Education in Social Work. GADE will be hosting a reception at 8:00 p.m. at the Marriott Riverwalk hotel.

Four faculty members will be inducted into the inaugural class of Fellows of the Society for Social Work and Research: Gary Bowen, Mark Fraser, Shenyang Guo and Matthew Howard. Their awards will be presented on Fri., Jan. 17, at 4:30 p.m., at the Marriott Riverwalk, Alamo Ballroom C & D, 2nd Floor Elevator Level BR.

The School is hosting a reception in conjunction with the conference, on Fri., Jan. 17, from 8:00-9:30 p.m., at the Grand Hyatt San Antonio, room Travis A-B on the 3rd floor. All are welcome to attend.