Skip to main content

School celebrates 92nd annual commencement

The UNC School of Social Work held its 92nd annual hooding ceremony on Sat., May 11. Over 1,100 people packed Memorial Hall to celebrate the 141 MSW and seven Ph.D. graduates.

Dean Jack Richman and Alumni Council President Jennifer Baddour, MSW ’99, each welcomed the audience. Alumna Michelle Johnson, MSW ’98, gave the commencement address.

In a special presentation by Rachel Albert and Charity Sneed, the MSW Class of 2013 recognized Marilyn Ghezzi as Most Outstanding Faculty Member; Dr. Matthew Howard, Most Innovative Faculty Member; Dr. Lisa Zerden, Most Supportive Faculty Member; and Beth Sauer, Most Supportive Staff Member.

Dr. Erica Richman, on behalf of the Doctoral Class of 2013, recognized Dr. Natasha Bowen for receiving the Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award.

Video of commencement address

Photo galleries: