Skip to main content

School celebrates 91st annual commencement

The UNC School of Social Work held its 91st annual hooding ceremony on Sat., May 12. Over 1,000 people packed Memorial Hall to celebrate the 110 MSW and five Ph.D. graduates.

Dean Jack Richman and Alumni Council President Jennifer Baddour, MSW ’99, each welcomed the audience. Author and historian Timothy Tyson gave the commencement address.

In a special presentation by Nick Lemmon and Casey Rubenstein, the masters’ students recognized Lisa de Saxe Zerden as Most Outstanding Overall Faculty Member; Mat Despard, Most Innovative Teacher; Laurie Selz Campbell, Most Supportive Faculty Member; and Beth Sauer, Most Supportive Staff Member.

The doctoral students recognized Shenyang Guo as Most Outstanding Doctoral Professor; Natasha Bowen, Most Outstanding Doctoral Mentor; and Brenda Vawter, Most Supportive Administrative Staff. They also honored Kathleen Rounds, doctoral program chair, who is stepping down from that role this summer. Jenna Tucker presented the awards.

Photo galleries: