Skip to main content

Doctoral students win research awards

Doctoral students Rainier Masa, Cynthia Fraga Rizo and Jenna Tucker are recipients of the Anne-Linda Fursternberg Qualitative Research grant awards.

Anne-Linda Furstenberg was co-chair and then chair of the doctoral program from 1993 to 2000. She was an expert in the area of qualitative research and committed to its appropriate use in social work research. Furstenberg bequeathed fellowship funds for use to promote the learning and use of qualitative research methods by the UNC School of Social Work doctoral students. These funds have been augmented by contributions from family and friends.

The students will receive a $1,000 grant for their research studies:

  • Rainier Masa, “Giving Youths a Voice: A Contextualized Understanding of the Social and Economic Issues Facing Young People in Kibera, Nairobi, Kenya”
  • Cynthia Fraga Rizo, “A Qualitative Exploration of IPV-Specific Coping Based on the Perceptions and Experiences of IPV Survivors and Service Providers”
  • Jenna Tucker, “A Mixed Methods Evaluation of the Effect of the Parent University Pilot Program on Parent Involvement”